Labour has held on to two City Council seats following the by-elections which took place on Thursday 7 October.

Nayab Patel has been elected as a new councillor for the Sherwood ward while Corall Jenkins will represent St Ann’s.

The political makeup of the City Council remains at:

  • 50 Labour councillors
  • 3 Independent
  • 2 Conservative

The full by-election results are as follows:

Sherwood ward result

PATEL Nayab Abdul Hamid (Labour) – 1174 votes (ELECTED)

BARRATT Colin Leslie Allen (Nottingham Independents Putting Sherwood First) – 629

PRYOR Alfred Stephen (Conservative) – 320

SIBERT Catriona Helen Kate (Green) – 195

THOMAS Geraint (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) – 76

ROUSE Alison (Liberal Democrat) – 63

Turnout – 22.31%

St Ann’s ward result

JENKINS Corall Joy (Labour) – 1048 votes (ELECTED)

LARI Francesco (Nottingham Independents Putting St Ann`s First) – 204

TRAN Ngoc Thanh (Conservative) – 193

COULSON Barbara Joy (Green) – 92

HOUSLEY James (Liberal Democrat) – 40

CHADWICK Florence Sophia (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) – 24

Turnout 14.18%