The new Lord Mayor of Nottingham and Sheriff of Nottingham were formally announced this afternoon.

During a meeting of Full Council, Councillor Dave Trimble was named as the Lord Mayor for 2021/22 and Councillor Merlita Bryan the new Sheriff. They have replaced councillors Rosemary Healy and Patience Ifediora in their respective posts.

Councillor Trimble has served on Nottingham City Council for more than a quarter of a century, initially representing Park and then Dunkirk and Lenton, before his current ward of Lenton and Wollaton East.

Originally from Glasgow, he was the authority’s portfolio holder for Housing and Social Services for five years from 2002 to 2007 before taking on the role of Leisure and Culture, which he has stepped down from this week.

Councillor Bryan was born in Jamaica in 1951 and moved to Nottingham at the age of 11. She has been a city councillor since 2007 and is proud of the diversity of people she represents across Arboretum and Hyson Green.

Councillor Bryan, who has previously been Sheriff in 2012/13 and Lord Mayor in 2013/14, sits on the Health Scrutiny Committee and before that was a member of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. For the past year, she has been Executive Assistant for Schools and Nottingham Customer Care.

Speaking after this afternoon’s meeting, Councillor David Mellen, Leader of Nottingham City Council, said: “I’d like to firstly thank councillors Healy and Ifediora for all their efforts over the past 12 months, which have been extremely difficult for everyone.

“I know it’s been a huge frustration for them both that they haven’t been able to get out and about to meet more people across the city because of the pandemic and subsequent national restrictions.

“However, I’m delighted that we have announced councillors Trimble and Bryan to these civic roles.

“Merlita brings a wealth of experience having served both positions previously, and I know how much enthusiasm and energy she will bring this year as Sheriff.

“The naming of Dave in the figurehead role of Lord Mayor is a well-deserved honour after close to 30 years of service and dedication to the people of Nottingham.

“It’s an incredible level of commitment and civic duty on his part. He’s been instrumental in overseeing the recent transformation of Nottingham Castle, which we’re excited to see reopen in two months after a £30m investment.

“He’s also championed the major annual events which so many local people hold dear, plus seen our wonderful parks and open spaces receive record numbers of national Green Flags for excellence.

“As he steps from a portfolio holder role into this key civic one, I’d like to acknowledge his astonishing effort and commitment to Nottingham.”

New executive councillor roles have also been agreed at Full Council today. These are:

  • Councillor David Mellen: Leader and Portfolio Holder for Strategic Regeneration and Communications
  • Councillor Sally Longford: Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Energy, Environment and Waste Services
  • Councillor Cheryl Barnard: Portfolio Holder for Children’s and Young People
  • Councillor Rebecca Langton: Portfolio Holder for Skills, Growth and Economic Development
  • Councillor Sam Webster: Portfolio Holder for Finance and Resources
  • Councillor Linda Woodings: Portfolio Holder for Housing, Planning and Heritage
  • Councillor Neghat Khan: Portfolio Holder for Neighbourhoods, Safety and Inclusion
  • Councillor Eunice Campbell-Clark: Portfolio Holder for Leisure, Culture and Schools
  • Councillor Adele Williams: Portfolio Holder for Adults and Health
  • Councillor Rosemary Healy: Portfolio Holder for Highways, Transport and Cleansing Services