British wild cards Laura Robson, Jay Clarke and Liam Broady will all feature in a jam-packed first day of main draw action at the Aegon Open Nottingham on Charity Day Monday.

Laura Robson (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images for LTA)

On a day that all gate receipts from the event go to Rainbows Hospice for Children and Young People, tennis star Robson, 23, will take on Julia Boserup of the USA before East Midlands local Clarke plays India’s Yuki Bhambri in what will be only the 18-year-old’s second ever ATP Challenger main-draw tie. Broady will be second on the main stage against Ukrainian Illya Marchenko.

Fellow Brit Lloyd Glasspool will also be in action in the final round of qualifying after coming from a set down to beat Colombian Alejandro Falla at the Nottingham Tennis Centre, where former champions Ricardas Berankis and Matthew Ebden will battle it out for a place in the main draw.

World No. 495 Glasspool overcame former World No. 50 Falla 4-6 6-4 6-4 and will face Australian Alex Bolt first up on Court 4, though Briton Eden Silva fell at the final hurdle in qualifying for the WTA International event.

Women’s top qualifying seed Sachia Vickery was also knocked out 6-4 6-3 by Croatia’s Jana Fett, but Kristie Ahn and Grace Min of the USA will join the five Americans already in the main draw.

Like top seed Johanna Konta and newly-crowned French Open doubles champion Lucie Safarova, British No. 2 Heather Watson will begin her Aegon Open Nottingham campaign on Tuesday after finishing runner-up at the Aegon Surbiton Trophy on Sunday.

The opening day will see a total of 21 singles and doubles matches across five courts, including a brotherly affair between Neal and Ken Skupski and Sanchai and Sonchat Ratiwatana in the men’s doubles. The USA’s Lauren Davis and Alison Riske, two big contenders in the women’s singles draw, will also team up to face Natela Dzalamidze and Lidziya Marozava in the doubles event.

People can pay any price they desire from £3 to watch the glittering field of stars, as all proceeds from tickets sold for the first day go to the tournament’s official charity.

The full daily schedule of matches will be available the night before via the Tournament website and via Twitter on @BritishTennis.

Tickets to the Aegon Open Nottingham are now on general sale via
10-18 JUNE, 2017

RESULTS – JUNE 11, 2017

Qualifying Singles – Second Round
Qualifying – [9] J. Fett (CRO) d [1] S. Vickery (USA) 64 63
Qualifying – [2] K. Ahn (USA) d [7] D. Aiava (AUS) 75 62
Qualifying – [3] T. Martincova (CZE) d [WC] E. Silva (GBR) 62 63
Qualifying – [4] E. Kulichkova (RUS) d [13] C. Dolehide (USA) 67(5) 63 64
Qualifying – [8] G. Min (USA) d [6] L. Cabrera (AUS) 57 64 64
Qualifying – D. Yastremska (UKR) d [WC] A. Weinhold (USA) 36 62 62

Qualifying Singles – Second Round
Qualifying – [1] R. Berankis (LTU) d L. Saville (AUS) 64 36 62
Qualifying – [2] S. Groth (AUS) d [WC] F. Bass (GBR) 61 62
Qualifying – [3] J. Smith (AUS) d T. Garanganga (ZIM) 61 64
Qualifying – A. Bolt (AUS) d [4] M. McDonald (USA) 75 67(3) 62
Qualifying – Y. Kibi (JPN) d [5] R. Quiroz (ECU) 76(4) 62
Qualifying – [6] A. de Minaur (AUS) d T. Puetz (GER) 62 75
Qualifying – [7] M. Ebden (AUS) d [WC] B. Smith (GBR) 67(2) 63 64
Qualifying – L. Glasspool (GBR) d [8] A. Falla (COL) 46 64 64
First Round
Qualifying – [3] J. Smith (AUS) d [WC] R. Storrie (GBR) 64 46 76(3)
Qualifying – [5] R. Quiroz (ECU) d J. Paris (GBR) 63 76(7)
Qualifying – [6] A. de Minaur (AUS) d C. Clarke (GBR) 60 62
Qualifying – Y. Kibi (JPN) d N. Johansson (SWE) 67(6) 62 63
Qualifying – T. Garanganga (ZIM) d L. Bambridge (GBR) 64 46 64


CENTRE COURT start 11:00 am
[Q] Jana FETT (CRO) vs Mona BARTHEL (GER) [7]
[WC] L. Broady (GBR) vs [8] I. Marchenko (UKR)
[WC] Laura ROBSON (GBR) vs Julia BOSERUP (USA)
[WC] J. Clarke (GBR) vs [PR] Y. Bhambri (IND)
Yanina WICKMAYER (BEL) vs [Q] Elizaveta KULICHKOVA (RUS)

COURT 1 start 11:00 am
Qualifying – [1] R. Berankis (LTU) vs [7] M. Ebden (AUS)
M. Polmans (AUS) vs A. Whittington (AUS)
Su-Wei HSIEH (TPE) vs Kristina KUCOVA (SVK)
[4] T. Fabbiano (ITA) vs D. Shapovalov (CAN)

COURT 2 start 11:00 am
Qualifying – [2] S. Groth (AUS) vs Y. Kibi (JPN)
[4] Sa. Ratiwatana (THA) / So. Ratiwatana (THA) vs K. Skupski (GBR) / N. Skupski (GBR)

COURT 3 start 11:00 am
Qualifying – [3] J. Smith (AUS) vs [6] A. de Minaur (AUS)
Oceane DODIN (FRA) vs Magda LINETTE (POL)
[WC] B. Klein (GBR) / J. Salisbury (GBR) vs J. Nedunchezhiyan (IND) / L. Saville (AUS)
S. Groth (AUS) / J. Millman (AUS) vs [WC] L. Bambridge (GBR) / C. Norrie (GBR)

COURT 4 start 11:00 am
Qualifying – A. Bolt (AUS) vs L. Glasspool (GBR)
[Q] Kristie AHN (USA) vs Naomi OSAKA (JPN) [8]
M. Copil (ROU) / S. Stakhovsky (UKR) vs [WC] S. Clayton (GBR) / J. O’Mara (GBR)
[PR] M. Ebden (AUS) / G. Soeda (JPN) vs [2] M. Reid (AUS) / J. Smith (AUS)